facebook-icon-118

genetics_extra_logo

Genomic Testing

Holstein Australia is pleased to be able to facilitate Genomic Testing for Holstein cows and bulls. There are two test types:

  • Low Density Test
    This is the low density SNP panel which can be used to screen animals and has a slightly lower reliability than the higher density test.
  • High Density Test
    This is a higher density SNP panel which gives a higher reliability.

Breeding Values

Australian breeding values, ABV(g)s, are supplied for each sample. For cows, farmers can also choose to receive genomic breeding values from overseas to give them additional information about their animals.

  • Canadian genomic breeding values (GLPI)
  • US genomic breeding values (TPI(g))

Please note that at this stage two samples and two tests may be required to get BOTH a US and a Canadian result.

Pricing

For each of the respective options:

 Low Density  High Density
 CowsBulls CowsBulls
 Zoetis Early BirdStandardZoetis Early BirdStandard   
ABV(g) $50* $65* $70* $120* $135* $175*
ABV(g) + TPI(g) $70* $85* N/A $330* $155* $425*
ABV(g) + TPI(g) + GLPI $75 $90* N/A N/A $160* N/A

* Prices are GST excluded

Genomic Recessive Testing

With Genomic Breeding Value Without Genomic Breeding Value
CVM $40.00 $90.00
A2 Protein testing $30.00 $35.00
Brachyspina $25.00 $75.00
Free Martin Testing $10.00 $60.00

Process and Timing

Members wishing to receive genomic breeding values will be required to supply Holstein Australia with:

  • the Herdbook and National IDs of animals to be tested
  • Hair sample of the animals to be tested
  • Test required: Low Density Test (26K SNP) or High Density Test (80K SNP)
  • Foreign genomic breeding values required: GLPI or TPI(g)

Sample submission and ABV(g) release dates 

Samples To HARelease to OwnersTPI Official Results Due
Tuesday, 24 October 2017  Friday, 15 December 2017 
Wednesday, 13 December 2017 Wednesday, 7 February 2018 Monday, 12 February 2018
 Tuesday, 16 January 2018 Wednesday,  7 March 2018 Monday,  12 March 2018
Tuesday, 13 February 2018 Tuesday, 10 April 2018 Public Release Monday, 9 April 2018
Tuesday, 13 March 2018 Wednesday, 2 May 2018 Monday, 7 May 2018
Tuesday, 17 April 2018 Wednesday, 6 June 2018 Monday, 11 June 2018
Tuesday, 15 May 2018 Wednesday, 4 July 2018 Monday, 9 July 2018
Tuesday, 12 June 2018 Tuesday, 14 August 2018 Public Release Monday, 13 August 2018
Tuesday, 17 July 2018 Wednesday, 5 September 2018 Monday, 10 September 2018
Tuesday, 14 August 2018 Wednesday, 3 October 2018 Monday, 8 October 2018
Tuesday, 11 September 2018 Thursday, 8 November 2018 Monday, 12 November 2018
Tuesday, 16 October 2018 Tuesday, 11 December 2018 Public Release Monday, 10 December 2018
Tuesday, 13 November 2018 Wednesday, 9 January 2019

Samples received by the required date will be released to owners on the early release date. All animals will then be released publically on the public ABV(g) release date.